Best and Worst Movies of 2013

2013 had a big year for movies. From superheroes (Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, Thor: the Dark World) to drama (Lee Daniels: The Butler, 12 Years a Slave) and sci-fi (Star Trek: Into Darkness, Oblivion, Gravity). It’s hard to see them all and I hardly could keep up with the hundreds of movies that came out.

Of all the movies to come out this year, I’ve only seen 27 of them. Since tomorrow is a new year, with hundreds more movies I would like to see, I’ve rated the top 5 best and worst of the 2013 I’ve seen.

Best

  1. Star Trek: Into Darkness
    J.J. Abrams made Star Trek cool again and the sequel was successful in capturing fans attention with one of the most busy actors of the year Benedict Cumberbatch.
  2. This is the End
    One of the best apocalypse movies of the year. Actors played an exaggerated version of themselves and it kept me laughing most of the time. Also: Backstreet Boys.
  3. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
    One of the best book-to-movie adaptations. Catching Fire was even better than the first Hunger Games movie. Some critics were disappointed but I think this will be the best of all the Hunger Games movies.
  4. 12 Years a Slave
    A very powerful film showing the struggle of a free black man sold into slavery in the South. Chiwetel Ejiofor’s performance was heartbreaking and at times hard to watch.
  5. American Hustle
    Worth seeing at least once and great performances by these actors.

Worst

  1. Side Effects
    The trailer is totally misleading and watching the movie was disappointing.
  2. Olympus Has Fallen
    A good action movie but there wasn’t anything to it. Kind of boring after a while.
  3. After Earth
    Entertaining with some good effects but it wasn’t the best of the sci-fi films to come out this year.
  4. Warm Bodies
    I was disappointed not to like this better. It tried to be funny but it didn’t leave a good impression on me.
3 thoughts on “Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    1. I didn’t get to see “Inside Llewyn Davis” but I keep hearing about it’s great reviews so I’ll need to see it on DVD. Do you mean “The Hobbit” movies in general or the latest one? Part 1 and 2 were really good but I can’t help feeling a bit disappointed with “Desolation of Smaug”. Mainly because it felt like the middle part and I knew about Smaug leaving the mountain. Part two was done really well and was entertaining but I’ll probably have to see it again to like it better. I am looking forward to the last one though.

      How about yourself? Is “Inside Llewyn Davis” as good as everyone says? And what about your thoughts on “the Hobbit”?

      1. Actually, I haven’t seen Inside Llewyn Davis either(it only just opened in my area last week). I’m a big Coen bros. fan and I can’t wait to see it. I did see the Desolation of Smaug. It’s hard to judge it on it’s own merit outside the context of the trilogy. One thing I’m sure of; the films of the original LOTR trilogy stood strong as individual films even though they were 3 parts of one story. I doubt the Hobbit trilogy will live up to the LOTR trilogy, but we will have to wait till December to see the trilogy’s full potential.

Leave a Reply

